Blog
The Law Offices of Joseph J. Bogdan, LLC

CALL TODAY FOR A CONSULTATION

630-310-1267

Defending Your Social Work License

Posted on in Medical License Defense

social work license, social worker license, clinical social work,  Illinois professional license defense lawyer, license defense attorneyA career that can help others in the clinical social work field is a commendable opportunity for those who have a passion for people. However, if someone wants to pursue this type of job, he or she will need to obtain at least a Master’s in Social Work, and he or she will need to apply for a Clinical Social Work license before starting a career in social work.

Who Can be a Licensed Clinical Social Worker?

A licensed clinical social worker is a person who holds a license to practice clinical social work in the state of Illinois. This person will be authorized to provide mental health services in order to evaluate, treat, and prevent mental and emotional disorders in affected individuals and groups. A licensed clinical social worker can also assist in assessing a client’s psychological development, behavior, and interpersonal relationships.

How to Obtain Your Social Worker License

In order for an applicant to successfully obtain his or her clinical social work license, the applicant must display the following:

  • Complete application for a clinical social work license in writing;
  • Good moral character;
  • Master’s of Social Work degree;
  • Successful completion of 3,000 hours of supervised clinical professional experience;
  • Successful passing of the clinical social work examination; and
  • Payment of the required fees to obtain the application.

An applicant for a clinical social work license may also receive his or her doctoral degree from an approved social work program and has completed 2,000 hours of supervised clinical professional experience.

If a prospective applicant has not obtained his or her clinical social work license, then he or she may not, in any manner, practice in the social work field, advertise himself or herself as a social worker, use the title “licensed social worker,” or render any services to clients. If found practicing without a license, the accused could pay a civil penalty of no more than $10,000 for every offense, within 60 days after the effective date of the order of the civil penalty.

Contact Your DuPage County License Defense Attorney Today

Understanding the process of obtaining a social work license can be complicated and will need to be addressed by an experienced license defense lawyer. The vast experience at The Law Offices of Joseph J. Bogdan, LLC is recognized by our efforts to serve you in the most effective way possible. To schedule your free initial consultation, please contact our Illinois professional license defense lawyer at 630-310-1267 today.

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1295

Illinois State Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Illinois Pharmacists Association American Pharmacists Association 10.0Joseph John Bogdan
To Top